Install which version of Mantis?

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

Post Reply
mushu
Posts: 201
Joined: 04 Jan 2017, 17:41

Install which version of Mantis?

Post by mushu »

I had v1.2 installed on our IIS 8.5 DEV server and it worked great, the active directory adLogin plugin worked perfectly, everyone was happy. Now they tasked me with moving it into IIS 8.5 PROD so I decided to update everything during the move (ugh...) and I went with Mantis v1.3.4 and updated PHP and MySQL per below. It has been a struggle but everything is mostly installed and mostly works now, here is the /admin screen output:

Code: Select all

MantisBT Installation Information
MantisBT Version	1.3.4
PHP Version	5.6.24
MantisBT Database Information
Schema Version	209
ADOdb Version	5.20.4
MantisBT Path Information
Site Path	C:\MantisBT\
Core Path	C:\MantisBT\core\
Plugin Path	C:\MantisBT\plugins\
I have a distrust of "point zero" software and the latest Mantis appears to be a double point zero... Am I wasting my time trying to get active directory automatic login working in the v1.3.4 release? I read a developer post that said:
the v1.3.4 has a bunch of regression bugs that will be fixed in v1.3.5
and yet I don't see a v1.3.5 to download. Did that release get skipped entirely and you went directly to v2.0.0 instead? Were all those regression bugs that were alluded to fixed in the v2.0.0 release? Does v2.0.0 have the fully integrated active directory automatic login that the adLogin plugin gave us in v1.2? If not, is there contact information available for the author of that plugin to ask about updating it?
atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7919
Joined: 26 Mar 2008, 21:37
Location: Germany

Re: Install which version of Mantis?

Post by atrol »

mushu wrote: and yet I don't see a v1.3.5 to download.
It's there https://sourceforge.net/projects/mantis ... ble/1.3.5/
mushu wrote: is there contact information available for the author of that plugin to ask about updating it?
Information is displayed on page Manage > Manage plugins
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
mushu
Posts: 201
Joined: 04 Jan 2017, 17:41

Re: Install which version of Mantis?

Post by mushu »

Thanks for that. To update from v1.3.4 to v1.3.5 can I just copy over the top of all *.php files in each directory (keeping the config files the same) and be done with it?
atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7919
Joined: 26 Mar 2008, 21:37
Location: Germany

Re: Install which version of Mantis?

Post by atrol »

mushu wrote:To update from v1.3.4 to v1.3.5 can I just copy over the top of all *.php files in each directory (keeping the config files the same) and be done with it?
Yes in principle as there are no database schema changes in 1.3.5.
I would keep just the config files, remove all 1.3.4 folders and copy 1.3.5 after that.
This is to ensure that you don't have any files in your installation (could introduce unwanted side effects or security issues) that we might have removed from one version to next version.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
mushu
Posts: 201
Joined: 04 Jan 2017, 17:41

Re: Install which version of Mantis?

Post by mushu »

Great, thanks!
Post Reply